Randy Epling Ripley
Steve Frye Salt Rock
Dan Gillenwater Harmon
Toby Hershey Kenna
Bev Wiles Maidsville
Tim Ross Gay
Jack Whitmire Scott Depot


President Kenneth Wilson
Vice President Elmo Wiles
Secretary Eric Lingenfelter
Treasurer Martin Unrue
Past President/Director Russ Lingenfelter

Banquet at Cedar Lakes, Ripley

Speaker: Roger Rothhaar
Seminars: Greg Bonecutter, Sr.

2000 Awards presented at Banquet

Hall of Fame Frank Addington, Sr.
Bowhunter of the Year Bev Wiles
President’s Award Ronnie McCallister
Regional Rep of the Year Anna Sowards
Affiliated Club of the Year Pendleton County Bowhunters
Legislator of the Year Ed Bowman
Outdoor Writer of the Year David Mitchell
DNR Employee of the Year Gene Thorn
Manufacturer of the Year Boone’s Bow Shop


Awards Randy Moore
Media Bev Wiles
Merchandise Randy Epling
Records John Edman
Banquet Chairman Steve Frye



Summer    at Appalachian Bowhunters Association, Buckhannon

Fall            at Camp Virgil Tate, Cross Lanes

Mountain        at Sugar Grove at George Crider farm


Division of Natural Resources/Legislative Agenda

After much debate and amendments and ill-advised amendments, the Legislature passes and Gov. Wise signs Sunday hunting into law.  Flawed language in the bill allows Sunday hunting to begin in Fall, 2001.

At the third quarter Game Commission, the WVBA again requests that bowhunters be allowed to take more than one deer in the four “bowhunting only” counties.


  • Jack Whitmire, Columbia Gas Transmission, presents WVBA with a donation grant for education and conservation.

  • Joe Roy, WVBA Hall of Fame member, passes away Feb 7, 2001.

  • Troy Carpenter wins world IBO championship at Snowshoe, and at the end of the season is crowned ASA shooter of the year.

  • THE GREAT OUTDOORS store opens in Ripley.

  • SUNDAY HUNTING is approved by Legislature.

  • WVBA publishes Records Book of all W.Va. bowkilled deer and bear.

  • Frank Addington honored by the DNR as W.Va. Sportsman of the Year.

  • And in October, Frank is honored by Gov. Wise with the Distinguished West Virginian Award.