Paul Dickey Hurricane
Ken Ickes Grafton
Randy Epling Ripley
Steve Casey French Creek
Bev Wiles Maidsville
Tim Ross Spencer
Jack Whitmire Scott Depot


President Kenneth Wilson Chapmanville
Vice President Randy Moore Huntington
Secretary Eric Lingenfelter Barboursville
Treasurer Martin Unrue Sandyville
Past President/Director Russ Lingenfelter Barboursville

Banquet at Cedar Lakes, Ripley

Speaker: John “Maggie” McGee
Seminars: Greg Bonecutter, Sr.
Mike Dickess
Maggie McGee

1999 Awards presented at Banquet

Hall of Fame Greg Bonecutter, Sr., Jim Casto, Jr., John Edman
Bowhunter of the Year Jack Whitney
Master Bowhunter Harry Croft
Expert Bowhunter Roger Kirk, Warren Stewart
President’s Award Mike Parrish
Appreciation Award John Slaughter, for two terms as Vice President
Appreciation Award Elmo Wiles, for two terms as Treasurer
Legislator of the Year Congressman Bob Wise
Outdoor Writer of the Year John McCoy
DNR Employee of the Year Jack Cromer
Manufacturer of the Year Mike Dickess
Outfitter of the Year Marty Quinn, Bear Paw Camps


Awards J.R. Chambers
Media Bev Wiles
Merchandise Randy Epling
Records John Edman


Spring      at Wildlife League of Ohio County, Wheeling

Summer    at Appalachian Bowhunters Association, Buckhannon

Fall            at W.Va Interstate Fairgrounds, Mineral Wells

Mountain        at Sugar Grove at George Crider farm


Division of Natural Resources/Legislative Agenda

Delegate Fletcher introduces legislation to buck gun season on Saturday prior to Thanksgiving week.  Legislation fails.

WVBA expresses opposition to the 18 days of doe hunting in 30 counties.  The WVBA expressed concern this is to much pressure on the doe population in many parts of the state.  The WVBA also asks that two deer be allowed to take more than one deer in the southern “bowhunting only” counties.


  • Randy Epling wins second consecutive IBO national championship

  • WVBA and the NWTF, Logan Chapter donate a “ROBO-DEER” to DNR.