Steve Frye Salt Rock
Dan Gillenwater Harmon
Tom Kruk Ravenswood
Tom Oxley Sissonville
Mike Plumley Kenna
Tim Ross Gay
Bev Wiles Maidsville


President Elmo Wiles Maidsville
Vice President Randy Epling Ripley
Secretary Ed McMinn South Charleston
Treasurer Marc Fox Fairview
Past President/Director Kenneth Wilson Chapmanville

Banquet at Cedar Lakes, Ripley

Speaker: Rev. Stacy Groscup
Seminars: Tom Bechdel
Greg Bonecutter, Sr
Rev. Stacy Groscup

2002 Awards presented at Banquet

Bowhunter of the Year Konda Epling
Master Bowhunter Tom Kruk
Expert Bowhunter Jay Chambers
Big Bear Award Clinton Mullins
Big Groundhog Award Marc Fox
Big Carp Award Lonnie Sneed
President’s Award Jamie Withrow
Regional Rep of the Year John Drangmeister
Appreciation Award Rusty Reed, NRA
Appreciation Award Dennis Cease, Camp Kno Koma
Photo Contest, Bowhunter Exp Michael Moore
Photo Contest, Game Taken Brian Boone
Affiliated Club of the Year Big Bend Bowhunters
Legislator of the Year Emily Yeager
Outdoor Writer of the Year Hoy Murphy
DNR Employee of the Year Doshia Webb
Manufacturer of the Year Gary’s Sporting Goods
Outfitter of the Year ACI Expeditions


Awards Tim Ross
Media Bev Wiles
Merchandise Randy Epling
Records John Edman
Banquet Steve Frye


Cabin Fever Shoot      at Huntington Archery Club

Spring      at Wildlife League of Ohio County, Wheeling

Summer    at Appalachian Bowhunters Association, Buckhannon

Fall            at Camp Virgil Tate, Cross Lanes

Mountain        at Sugar Grove at George Crider farm


Division of Natural Resources/Legislative Agenda

Crossbow legislation is again submitted in the House by Delegates – Trump, Faircloth, Smirl, Leggett.

House Concurrent Resolution No. 49 directs the Joint Committee of Government and Finance study the cost and benefits associated with the W.Va. DEER POPULATION.  Committee is to report to the 2004 Legislature with findings, conclusion, and recommendations.


  • DNR award recognizes WVBA donations to Hunters Helping the Hungry. Donations of more than $15,000 have been made by the WVBA and its’ Affiliated Clubs since HHH started in 1993; which far exceeds donations of any other state sportsmen’s organization.

  • High School State Championship Shoot

    1st        Wyoming East High School

    2nd       Ripley High School

    3rd        Parkersburg South High School

  • Wheelin’ Sportsman day for disabled hunters at Mountwood Park in June.

  • District 6 Lead Reg Rep Chris Nowery passes away Aug. 2, 2003.

  • Pope & Young Club eliminates 65% let-off rule. WVBA equipment restrictions are also changed to match those of P&Y.