Steve Frye Salt Rock
Dan Gillenwater Harmon
Toby Hershey Kenna
Tom Kruk Ravenswood
Tom Oxley Sissonville
Tim Ross Gay
Bev Wiles Maidsville


President Elmo Wiles Maidsville
Vice President Randy Epling Ripley
Secretary Ed McMinn South Charleston
Treasurer Marc Fox Fairview
Past President/Director Kenneth Wilson Chapmanville

Banquet at Cedar Lakes, Ripley

Speaker: Mike Lapinski

2001 Awards presented at Banquet

Hall of Fame John Negley, Orville “Babe” Tucci (posthumously)
Bowhunter of the Year Mike Parrish
Expert Bowhunter Larry Davis, Malcolm Sowards, Gene Thorn
Big Buck Award Doyle Gore
Big Groundhog Award George Crider
Big Carp Award Clare Lyons
President’s Award Tom Oxley
Regional Rep of the Year Harold Sheppard
Appreciation Award Eric Lingenfelter, four years as Secretary
Women’s Shoot winner Brenda Sovine
Photo Contest, Bowhunter Exp. Michael Moore
Photo Contest, Game Taken Chris Sowards
Affiliated Club of the Year Traditional Bowhunters of Southern W.Va.
Legislator of the Year Sen. Earl Ray Tomblin
Outdoor Writer of the Year Chris Lawrence
DNR Employee of the Year Gordon Robertson
Manufacturer of the Year Jim Ferguson
Outfitter of the Year Eldon Jandreau


Awards Tim Ross
Media Bev Wiles
Merchandise Randy Epling
Records John Edman
Banquet Chairman Steve Frye


Spring    at Wildlife League of Ohio County, Wheeling

Summer    at Appalachian Bowhunters Association, Buckhannon

Fall            at Camp Virgil Tate, Cross Lanes

Mountain        at Sugar Grove at George Crider farm



  • Frank Addington awarded the Distinguished West Virginian Award by Governor Bob Wise.

  • Rusty Reed presents an NRA award of $1,500 to WVBA.

  • High School State Champion 3-D Shoot

    1st        Wyoming East High School

    2nd       Baileysville High School

    3rd        Ripley High School

    High School Shoot All State Members

    Sonny Dye                  Parkersburg South

    Robbie Haddox          Tygarts Valley

    Larry Steele                Baileysville

    Dwight Canada           Baileysville

    David Boone               Buckhannon-Upshur

  • Sunday hunting voted out in 35 counties in primary vote.

  • Frank Addington, Sr. honored as a Dealer of the Year by Archery Business

  • Anna Sowards wins IBO World Championship at Snowshoe.

  • Anna Sowards, Bev Wiles and Pam Slaughter recognized by Ed Hamrick, DNR Director, for conducting archery classes at the Becoming an   Outdoors Woman program.

  • Sunday hunting voted out in 6 more counties in general election.

  • At the third quarter DNR Game Commission meeting, WVBA requests that language on the recently enacted second deer tag in the four “bowhunting only” counties be changed from requiring the second deer taken be a doe.